Skip to main content

Who pays for LAFCOs?

State law establishes a "pay-to-play" formula in terms of funding LAFCOs. Any local agency whose council or board members are eligible to be commissioners must contribute funds to their LAFCO's budget.  In Napa County, the six agencies funding LAFCO are the County of Napa and the Cities of American Canyon, Calistoga, Napa, St. Helena, and Town of Yountville. The County is responsible for one-half of LAFCO’s annual operational costs with the remaining amount is proportionally shared by the five cities based on a prescribed formula weighting population and general tax revenues.  There is no special district representation currently on LAFCO of Napa County. 

Join our mailing list